tamavibes.blogg.se

Bootable usb not showing up
Bootable usb not showing up










bootable usb not showing up

So anyway, if anybody knows what's wrong with my PC, and how to fix that UEFI / USB issue I'd appreciate a helpful hand. Most likely one of the real knowleadgeable people on this forum has helped me, because I definitely wouldn't have been able to do it myself Yeah, that's what has happened, but like I've said, I don't remember how I managed to make my BIOS boot from USB back then. Wait! I actually remember that I have tried over 15 distros (no exaggeration) and of all distros Mint was the only one to work. I think I still have some threads opened up on this forum about the struggles I've had at that time to make Linux work on the newly-then UEFI interface, and even though I'm currently typing these from the very Linux Mint on this very Windows / Microsoft oriented PC I literally have no idea when, or how I have managed to make Linux work on it. Well, it didn't actually boot because I'm dual booting Linux Mint 18.2 Cinnamon with Windows 8.1 so, it actually let me decide which OS I want to boot into.īut the point I'm trying to make is that UEFI / GRUB (or whoever is responsible with booting my computer) simply bypasses my bootable USB stick, even though it's set as priority #1 inside of the UEFI firmware, and I'm assuming it's because of UEFI not being able to detect the USB stick properly.Īny of you handsome girls and guys have any idea what is wrong with the whole UEFI / USB issue, and more importantly, how to make UEFI recognize my bootable USB sticks? I remember having went through lots of pain some 3-4 years ago when I have first tried putting Linux on this computer, as when I've purchased it I intended to make it an exclusively Windows / Microsoft PC, not knowing at that time that my days of using Windows are numbered Well, I went ahead and set the bootable order anyway (with this ubuntu thingy being the 1st, then DVD the second, and lastly the HDD), then restarted the computer but when it got to booting from the USB device (which again, the UEFI detected as "ubuntu (Drive not present)" device) it simply skipped it, skipped the DVD option, too (because I had no bootable DVD inserted), and proceeded to boot from the HDD. I just created a bootable USB with Linux Mint 19 Xfce, then went into BIOS (well, UEFI actually cause that's what it's called on my computer), and when setting the booting order I have noticed that the USB drive is detected as "ubuntu (Drive not persent)" (yep, these are the exact words of my bootable USB drive). I'm having a problem with my bootable USB drive not being recognized by UEFI.












Bootable usb not showing up